Review: The Extra Strength Strap Saver

Today’s review is a review of the nifty, handy bra accessory – the Strap Saver! I’ve mentioned the Strap Saver several times on my blog but have never fully reviewed the product yet. Today, in particular, I’m reviewing the latest iteration of the product, the Extra Strength version. Strap Saver’s Shari  kindly sent me the product to review because she noticed I liked the original (regular strength) version so much. 

While both versions of the Strap Saver are made out of stainless steel, the Extra Strength version uses a thicker stainless steel for more sturdy support. This new version was conceived and created upon hearing some reports that the regular strengths would bend out of shape if they were holding up too much weight. You can read about it here. The new wisdom is the following:

Use Regular Strap Savers for bras & bathing suits up to a size 40DD, tank tops & light dresses

Use Extra-Strength Strap Savers for bras & bathing suits size 40DDD & larger, sports bras & heavy dresses

But let’s not get ahead of ourselves. Let’s see how this thing works!

Once upon a time, I learned that I could only buy bras with fully adjustable straps. I have a short upper torso, and high set breasts, so in order to get lift I need some short straps! Most straps that are only partially adjustable do not adjust short enough for me. I would have to avoid buying many lovely bras because of this precise reason. 

When I bought my Ewa Michalak CHP Lawenda, I had forgotten to perform my usual strap inquiry. Oh no! When I received the Lawenda, I was horrified to see the following:

  

I hoped that despite the fact they were only partially adjustable, they would still be short enough for me. But they were not. Adjusted all the way, the bra has very minimal lift, and the tops of the cup gape:

   
 

If the straps were shortened to their ideal length for me, I could achieve more lift and no gaping, like this:

  

Now, crafty people might just go ahead and sew the straps shorter. My friends, I have an irrational fear regarding hand-altering bras. I just can’t picture myself shortening straps and sewing them back up successfully. Now, I do aim to try one day. But that day has not yet come. The Strap Saver is for people like me – a cheap, handy, reversible, non-sewing solution to the problem of straps of an unfortunate length. 

And note: the Strap Saver is not just for shortening partially adjustable straps, but can also be used to shorten bra straps that have become too long and stretched out from being worn. So, it can give added life to a beloved old bra, too.

Strap Savers come in a little pink bag. The bag is a great idea, because then you won’t lose the tiny products. 

   
 

They also come with 2 clear sets of instructions, 1 for if your straps have a metal slider, and one for if they do not. There are also instructional videos on the Strap Saver website. 

  

The Extra Strengths are made of a sturdy metal. Here is a comparison photo with the Regular version, with the Extra Strength on the right:

  

Here’s how to put them on. First you adjust the strap as long as it will go:

  

Then you pull the strap through the adjuster, forming a loop, pulling it through the amount you would like to shorten it (the bigger the loop you make, the shorter the strap will be!). 

  

Then you put the top of the loop and the bra strap through the wider part of the Strap Saver:

  

And the final step is to carefully hook the narrower part of the Strap Saver onto the bra strap. This is the hardest part, in my opinion. The metal is so sturdy that you have to try hard to squeeze the strap into it! But, it works, and when it’s in place it’s obviously not going anywhere. 

  

Then you do the other strap. 

And now Lawenda is lifted high to the sky:

  

From the back, the metal clips are somewhat visible, but they do not look offensively obtrusive. The shortened part is also going to be thicker/more bulky than the rest of the strap.

   
 

Do I notice much of a difference between the Regular and Extra Strength versions? Since I’m a UK 30G, the Regular version should be enough to hold my weight without distortion, and I have found that to be the case (if I am sister sizing down from a 40DDD correctly, I would require the Extra Strength if I were a UK 30H). However, I do like that the Extra Strength provides the assurance of extra security, and obviously some ladies are going to need it. I think it’s pretty cool that Shari and her team created the Extra Stength version after listening to feedback about their initial product. 

Extra-Strength Strap Savers come in ¾” and 1” and are currently offered in Metallic, but more colors are coming soon. They are the same price as regular Strap Savers – $15 for the first pair, $10 for each additional pair with free standard shipping in the US and just $2 additional to anywhere else in the world. You can grab yours here!

2 thoughts on “Review: The Extra Strength Strap Saver

  1. I had no idea this existed and that is a fabulous product because I can’t wear semi-adjustable straps either. 😥 Short roots! I’m glad to know this exists and I’ll get some in the future!

    Like

Leave a Reply

