Review: Comexim Pioson Ivy in 60J

Back to bloggin’! Sorry for the break this month. Traveling, relatives – the whole summer thing!

I purchased the Comexim Pioson Ivy (yes, that’s how it’s spelled) in 60J about a month ago from a lovely bratabase user. I didnt originally have this style on my “must-have-from-Comexim” list, but I saw many good reviews of its beauty. And indeed, it’s not only a beauty, but quite an original as well. Take a look:

   
A forest green, leafy lace pattern covers a soft nude base, which has a slight sheen. Forest green is “in” for this fall, so Comexim is ahead of the trends! However, I certainly haven’t seen forest green lingerie all across the board.  I’m not sure why – I’m sure there are others besides myself who want to run around feeling like elven maidens under their clothes (full disclosure: as a teenager I had the screen name “an elf maiden.” Total Tolkein nerd)!

This was my first experience with a Comexim padded plunge (before I had only tried the Joy longline, which is a padded half cup). Comexim padded plunges use very thin padding (which I quite like) and are seamed. This bra here is an unaltered 60J, which fits me perfectly (Comexim offers very inexpensive alterations, such as moving the straps in, lowering or raising the gore or cups, broadening the band, etc.). Take a look:

  

The bra gives me Y cleavage, which I actually rarely get. I realized why recently. Most of my bras are somewhat shallow with comparably wider wires, and cause a smushed cleavage by pushing my boobs up and in (to my chest). Since I have tall roots, the tissue simply gets pushed up in a gradual sloping shape up towards my collarbone, and the boobs don’t get defined in that nice round Y shape. But since this bra is a ton more projected, with narrower wires, it pushes my boobs up and out – as if I am holding my boobs up with my hands (or like “cakes on a plate”).  So bam! Comexim’s projection and narrow wires = Y cleavage for my tall rooted breasts. Fascinating!

 
I am a little sad that the big, pretty bow is so obscured by how close together and projected the cups are. But that’s the price you pay for awesome close and projected cups, I guess!

Below, a good look at the very rounded profile that Comexim padded plunges give, as well as the narrower wires: 

  
Above, you can also get a sense of the more projected look this bra offers, but you can see it even more in the photos below:

  
That is a lot of “out there” boob! 

    
To be honest, as I much as I love this bra and how it looks on me, I am having a hard time actually wanting to wear it under clothes. It is so much boob that it isn’t quite the everyday look I am going for – especially in the summer with tank tops! I do think it will get more wear as the weather cools down, and I cover up more. 

Interestingly, not all Comexim plunges are this projected. I also received recently a Comexim Ingrid in a sister-size, 65HH (review coming soon!) This bra also fits perfectly, but it has a more minimal look (I think the reason may be a combination of it’s being slightly less open in the middle, and slightly more shallow). Because of this, I reach more often for the Ingrid than the Pioson Ivy, but I’m pleased as punch to see both of them in my metaphorical “top drawer” (in reality it’s my bottom drawer… Hehe) every morning. 

A word on comfort: my entire upper torso is relatively content. Straps and tops of the cups aren’t terrorizing my armpits, and the 28 band is firm and supportive. 

Finally, the bra under a tank top: 

 
The seams on Comexim padded plunges are thankfully not too noticeable (I would wear them to work), although I believe the lace on this style shows through a thin top just a bit. 

We’ll take a closer look at the Comexim Ingrid next time, which, like Pioson Ivy, is also aesthetically “perfect for Fall.”

Très amicalement,

Lucie


10 thoughts on “Review: Comexim Pioson Ivy in 60J

  1. Yaaaay! This fits so much better on you than it did on me – this looks perfect! Wouldn’t the Ingrid in 60HH be actually one cup size smaller than this bra, not a sister size? I have Poison Ivy in a 60HH now and it’s finally one I can keep lol. I agree, it’s a lot of “hello boobies” especially if you’re not used to that look, but it’s such a gorgeous bra!

    Like

  2. This is a great, detailed review. I totally see what you mean when you say you aren’t quite sure about how to wear it under clothes because of the vast expanse of uncontained boob. Even with more covered-up outfits I feel personally that if a bra doesn’t keep things secure, the wibbly wobbly effect of acres of uncontained cleavage annoys me throughout the day, and I just don’t reach for it… so even though they always seem like a versatile choice when I buy them, if they don’t keep things secured enough, I tend to use my super low cut bras as specialty items, i.e. only with the rare outfit that is very low-cut and therefore justifies the bra’s neckline.

    As amazing as this design is, I feel Comexim could fine tune it further in the small band/large cup range to give more containment to the breast tissue near the gore, while still maintaining a low gore. Let’s face it, there are not a lot of clothes have a neckline low enough that they need that much openness, and I often get the sense that the proportions of this neckline were determined when designing for larger, taller, broader built women (4″ of uncontained boobage works and feels differently on a 5’8″ woman with an average build compared to a 5’3″ woman with a tiny build, because it just represents more of the overall breast).

    In additional bra-nerdery, I notice in particular when Comexims are reviewed by thin women with large implants that they get a sort of “busting out” look even in the correct cup depth which means a lot of the breast is not really secured or supported. For all-natural boobs, this is not a serious problem (just a bit disconcerting as you point out) but for the augmented folks with little or no natural tissue, they really need excellent support to avoid problems with their implants down the road.

    Like

    • I think you’re right on the mark with much of what you’re saying here. I hadn’t even thought about the potential lack of support for implants! Even though you may be right that Comexim bras may be designed for broader, less petite women, I think that the design may reflect a desire for sexy, less full-coverage styles for cleavage-loving folk as well (or if that was not the intention, I think many ladies like it for that reason!).

      Like

      • Absolutely, that is part of their brand image–that the bras are sexy and suitable for low-cut, cleavage baring attire. I just think that the optimal combination of cleavage and support has been harder for them to achieve in the under-32, over-F cup range, compared to the size ranges fitting women with larger torsos or smaller boobs, which is a shame since they are one of the few companies offering this style of cleavage baring, plunge bras precisely for this size range. The difference in coverage is really drastic for the same bra between these different sizes and I imagine the difference in support is pretty significant.

        Like

  3. Every time I see a Comexim review I immediately want a new bra from them! (I’m actually just looking for something that gives as much boob as possible haha.) I’m wondering though, as you mentioned they do alterations: do they suggest the alterations for you, or are you supposed to know what you need and tell them? I haven’t had the best of luck with communicating with them, whenever I email them questions I get a very brief and vague response (once they even replied in Polish to my English email …). So that’s putting me off a bit from my future buys because I really don’t want to keep returning bras to them if they don’t fit perfectly.

    Like

    • Thanks for your comment! I hear ya, I get jealous whenever I see polish bras on blogs hehe. As for alterations, I have never asked for alterations because I have never needed to, but I know that many people have had good experiences (with the occasional error/miscommunication). You will have to know what alterations you’re interested in (although I have heard of someone sending Anna a photo of herself in a bra and asking for a recommendation). A common one is asking for reduced cups, since for many ladies the cups are too tall and gape a bit. The other common alteration is reduced or heightened gore, depending on how much center coverage you want. The best communication is by email and in written Polish (although I hear Spanish works well too!). The ladies on bratabase and Abrathatfits are really helpful in translating your desires into a polish email. You can even do a search on the Abrathatfits reddit and see some similar inquiries with the Polish translations.

      Like

      • Thank you for the recommendations! I guess I’ll ask in one of those places, I have quite a few questions so it’s not entirely conventient to talk through a translator, BUT it’s definitely better than nothing! I’m not exactly sure what I’d need altered, my cups gape a bit but I don’t think I’d want them reduced since my nipples are a bit high (TMI haha). I sent a photo to them before but they only said I needed to go up 2 cup sizes, but then the bra ended up too big and I had to return it so it didn’t go as planned. I really hope reddit and bratabase can help me out!

        Like

  4. Pingback: Comexim Pioson Ivy Longline: Forest nymph | The Petite Collegiate

Leave a Reply

